Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Students Receive Latina/o Fellowships

Congratulations to Michael Flores and Julian Sanchez, two American Literary Studies students who were recently awarded the 2014-2015 Latina/o Graduate and Professional Student Fellowship. Michael Flores is a first-year PhD student studying Native American and Chicana/o literature, and Julian Sanchez is a first-year MA student studying Southwestern literature.  

Brenna Gomez, an MFA student, also received a 2014-2015 fellowship, which is a joint initiative between the Graduate Resource Center and El Centro de la Raza. 

The fellowship seeks to increase the representation of the Latina/o graduate and professional student community in academic and professional organizations. In addition to attending monthly graduate sessions and workshops, the program provides fellows with a $1,000 scholarship to support their research. Fellows also meet with a faculty mentor for intellectual support and advisement. Dr. Melina Vizcaino-Aleman, Asst. Professor in ALS, will serve as mentor to both Michael and Julian, while Professor Dan Mueller will serve as Brenna's mentor. Congratulations go out to all three.

Community Collaboration in Technical and Professional Writing

Spring semester 2014, Dianne Bechtel’s Technical and Professional Writing students wrote documents with a community service focus. The Campus Office of Substance Abuse Prevention (COSAP) information on Alcohol was selected to fill a "safety" gap and the students wrote manuals on Alcohol Poisoning.

Students were given the opportunity to have their work make a difference in the UNM community and in their academic portfolios. Eight student documents met all assignment criteria and were selected for the competitive opportunity. John Steiner and his COSAP staff chose the winner, Audrey Martinez. COSAP worked with Audrey over the rest of the semester and summer to complete the project. We are proud to announce that the UNM COSAP website has posted Audrey’s work. To see the work, please go to http://cosap.unm.edu/.  On the left side of the page, click Alcohol Poisoning? Save a Life and Click Here!  

In the process, a mutually beneficial relationship with COSAP was developed. John and his staff came to the classroom and introduced COSAP's student-services and distributed a survey to help update their research on student substance abuse at UNM. In addition, one student reported that working on the assignment taught him how to act during an emergency and it helped him take care of a girl who had been binge drinking and became unresponsive.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Alemán Elected to C19 Executive Committee

Dr. Jesse Alemán has been elected to the Executive Committee of C19—The Society of Nineteenth-Century Americanists. He will serve as Membership Chair for the first academic organization dedicated to nineteenth-century American literary studies. C19 holds an annual conference; publishes J19: The Journal of Nineteenth-Century Americanists; and invites student membership for $35, faculty membership for $65, and institutional membership for $80 annually.
For more information, see: http://c19.psu.edu/membership/join

Tiffany and Andrew Bourelle Publish New On-line Resource

Tiffany Bourelle and Andrew Bourelle have published a webtext article in the digital peer-reviewed journal Kairos: Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy. The article addresses how to develop a successful multimodal curriculum in a fully online classroom, providing instructors with advice on creating instructional tools.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Emily Rapp joins UNM English as Russo Chair Professor

A former Fulbright scholar and graduate of Harvard Divinity School, Emily Rapp is the author of Poster Child: A Memoir and Still Point of the Turning World.  Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, Slate, and Salon, among other publications.  She is the recipient of the Rona Jaffe Writers’ Award, a James Michener Fellowship at the University of Texas-Austin, and the Philip Roth Residence in Creative Writing at Bucknell University.  A professor of creative writing and literature at the Santa Fe University of Art and Design and a faculty member in the University of California-Riverside Low-Residency MFA Program, she joins UNM’s creative writing faculty as the Joseph M. Russo Visiting Professor in Creative Nonfiction.

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Rananim program, the Online Writing Community of the Taos Summer Writers' Conference

The UNM Taos Summer Writers' Conference began sixteen years ago to create a link between UNM and the D.H. Lawrence Ranch just outside of beautiful Taos, NM. For years, the Conference has taken participants to the Ranch, had fellows stay in the fellowship cabin, and created that thing that Lawrence so desired: a utopian society where writers and artists of all kinds can go to create and commune.
This summer at the Conference, a new program called Rananim was created. The proceeds of Rananim, an Online Writing Community of the Taos Summer Writers' Conference, will go toward the renovation of the D. H. Lawrence Ranch. For more information about the new Rananim program, go to the website at http://www.unm.edu/~taosconf/ or watch the video that describes the ranch and the project https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlKpSRK08S8.
The Rananim website includes a blog with posts about the Ranch. Here's the link:

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Poets Publishing MFA Dissertations

Nick dePascal, who graduated with an MFA in 2013 and is currently a lecturer in our department, won the first West End Press Poetry Prize.  His book, Before You Become Improbable, is now out from West End Press. Congratulations to Nick!

In addition, Natalie Scenters-Zapico, also a 2013 poetry MFA graduate, has had her manuscript, The Verging Cities, accepted by the Center for Literary Publishing through their Mountain West Poetry Series.​ Congratulations Natalie!